General Industry

Fáilte Ireland Crowns 16 New Food Champions

By Publications Checkout
Fáilte Ireland Crowns 16 New Food Champions

From over 400 nominations, Fáilte Ireland has crowned 16 new "Food Champions", who are influencing Ireland's cuisine, developing Irish food tourism and championing its food.

The initiative was launched to identify emerging players in Ireland's food scene rather than big well-known names, reports The Irish Times.

The 16 champions, nominated by their peers in the tourism, food and hospitality industries, will join six existing food champions who are already working to promote Ireland for their local communities. Winners include French native Ketty Elisabeth who runs 'Delicious Dublin Tours' and the blog 'French Foodie in Dublin' as well as Seáneen Sullivan, partner at Stoneybatters L. Mulligan Grocer.

Discussing their new roles, Elisabeth said “Being from outside Ireland and being recognised as a champion for Irish food tourism is an honour. Food in Dublin is so exciting, there is so much going on” while Sullivan added “Part of the reason I love Dublin is that Dublin loves to celebrate what is special about itself. Dubliners love to share their tips, as though it is a great secret they are imparting only to you."

The full list of champions and their region is:


Ireland’s Ancient East

Anthony O’Toole - Culinarian Press, Wexford
Claire Dalton - Dungarvan Brewing Company, Waterford
Gearóid Lynch - The Olde Post Inn, Cavan
Judith Boyle - Beer sommelier and publican, Kildare
Patrick Ryan - Firehouse Bakery, Wicklow
John Relihan - Holy Smoke, Cork
Kevin Ahern – Sage, Cork
Olivia Duff – The Headfort Arms Hotel, Meath

Dublin – A Breath of Fresh Air

Garrett Fitzgerald - Brother Hubbard
Ivan Varian - Dalkey Food Company
Niall Sabongi - Klaw
Ketty Elizabeth - French Foodie in Dublin and Delicious Dublin Tours
Seáneen Sullivan - L Mulligan Grocer
Pádraic Óg Gallagher - The Boxty House

Wild Atlantic Way

Áine Maguire - The Idle Wall, Mayo
Gabriel Faherty - Aran Islands Goat’s Cheese, Galway
Chris Molloy - The Lemon Tree, Donegal
Tom Flavin - The Strand Hotel, Limerick
Mark Murphy - Dingle Cookery School, Kerry
Jacinta Dalton - Department of Culinary Arts, GMIT, Galway
Ruth Healy - Urru Culinary Store, Cork
Bríd Torrades - Osta Cafe, Sligo