General Industry

The Tourism Towns Award 2013 Shortlist

By Publications Checkout
The Tourism Towns Award 2013 Shortlist

Ten shortlisted towns and villages from across the country are eagarly anticipating the 2013 Fáilte Ireland Tourism Towns Awards.

The shortlisted towns and villages are, Cobh, Co. Cork, Drogheda, Co. Louth, Ennis, Co. Clare, Kenmare, Co. Kerry, Kilkenny, Co. Kilkenny ,Letterkenny, Co. Donegal , Mulranny, Co. Mayo, Murrisk, Co. Mayo, Tralee, Co. Kerry and Westport, Co. Mayo.

The winner will be announced at a ceremony in Dublin on Thursday next.

The Tourism Towns Award was introduced to encourage more town and villages to enhance their appeal to tourists visiting their local area. In an addition to last year's format, the 2013 competition will recognise a Best Small Town and Best Large Town, with the Best Overall Town chosen from one of these. Both winners and all ten shortlisted will each receive cash awards to help promote their locality as well as the added marketing benefit of becoming a designated Tourism Town.