General Industry

Ryanair Announces 11 New Routes From Edinburgh

By Dave Simpson
Ryanair Announces 11 New Routes From Edinburgh

Ryanair has announced that it will add 11 new Winter 18 routes to Edinburgh and will close its one aircraft Glasgow International base from November 2018. One aircraft and five routes (Derry, Lisbon, Sofia, Riga and Berlin) will switch from Glasgow to Edinburgh Airport.

Ryanair’s Scottish winter 2018 schedule went on sale on Tuesday February 27 and includes the following highlights:

– Edinburgh: 45 routes including London Stansted & 11 new routes to Berlin, Derry, Gothenburg, Hamburg, Lisbon, Memmingen, Stockholm Skavsta, Riga, Seville, Sofia, & Tallinn

– Glasgow Prestwick: Eight routes to Alicante, Faro, Fuerteventura, Lanzarote, Malaga, Malta, Rzeszow & Tenerife South

– Glasgow International: Three routes to Dublin (three times daily), Krakow (two weekly) & Wroclaw (two weekly)


In Edinburgh, Ryanair Chief Commercial Officer David O’Brien said, "Ryanair regrets these cuts in the weaker Glasgow market where efforts to stimulate low fare demand are severely hampered by the continuing burden of APD.

"As a result, we will transfer our Glasgow International based aircraft to Edinburgh in November where we will offer 11 new low fare routes (45 in total including London Stansted) and deliver over 3.5 million passengers per annum at Edinburgh Airport."