General Industry

Trump Restricts Travel From Europe To US Due To Coronavirus

By Dave Simpson
Trump Restricts Travel From Europe To US Due To Coronavirus

United States president Donald Trump has imposed sweeping restrictions to prevent people from 26 European countries from travelling to the US for 30 days from Friday March 13 due to COVID-19.

However, the travel ban does not apply to Ireland and the UK, or to American citizens, legal permanent residents of the United States, immediate family members of US citizens and other individuals who are identified in the proclamation.

The travel ban will also not affect trade. Trump said on Twitter, "The restriction stops people not goods."

The US president signed an order that suspends the entry of most foreign nationals who have been in certain European countries at any point during the 14 days prior to their scheduled arrival to the United States.

Affected Countries

The countries affected by the travel ban are Austria, Belgium, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, Italy, Latvia, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden and Switzerland, according to the Homeland Security Department.


Trump said that the restrictions will be adjusted subject to conditions on the ground.

News by Reuters, edited by Hospitality Ireland. Click subscribe to sign up for the Hospitality Ireland print edition.