James Beard Restaurant And Chef Awards 2023 Winners Announced

By Dave Simpson
James Beard Restaurant And Chef Awards 2023 Winners Announced

The James Beard Foundation has announced today the winners of the 2023 James Beard Restaurant and Chef Awards presented by Capital One.

Statement By James Beard Foundation CEO

James Beard Foundation CEO Clare Reichenbach said, "Congratulations to the exceptional winners of this year's Restaurant and Chef Awards - whose incredible achievements and dedication to culinary excellence have left an indelible mark on our industry.

As we celebrate, it's important to acknowledge the significant work that these accomplished restaurants and chefs have done to push American food culture forward—using their immense creativity, passion, and talent to create extraordinary experiences on behalf of others. Thanks to them, our food future is bright, indeed."


The 2023 Restaurant and Chef Award Winners are:

  • Outstanding Chef: Rob Rubba, Oyster Oyster, Washington, D.C.
  • Outstanding Restaurant Presented by Acqua Panna Natural Spring Water: Friday Saturday Sunday, Philadelphia, PA
  • Best New Restaurant Presented by BentoBox: Kann, Portland, OR
  • Outstanding Restaurateur: Ellen Yin, High Street Hospitality Group (Fork, + bar, High Street, and others), Philadelphia, PA
  • Emerging Chef Presented by S.Pellegrino Sparkling Mineral Water: Damarr Brown, Virtue, Chicago, IL
  • Outstanding Bakery Presented by Guinness: Yoli Tortilleria, Kansas City, MO
  • Outstanding Pastry Chef or Baker: Margarita Manzke, République, Los Angeles, CA
  • Outstanding Hospitality Presented by American Airlines: The Quarry, Monson, ME
  • Outstanding Wine and Other Beverages Program: OTOTO, Los Angeles, CA
  • Outstanding Bar Presented by Hilton: Bar Leather Apron, Honolulu, HI
  • Best Chefs Presented by Capital One (by region):
    Best Chef: California
    • Justin Pichetrungsi, Anajak Thai, Sherman Oaks, CA
    Best Chef: Great Lakes (IL, IN, MI, OH)
    • Tim Flores and Genie Kwon, Kasama, Chicago, IL
    Best Chef: Mid-Atlantic (DC, DE, MD, NJ, PA, VA)
    • Chutatip “Nok” Suntaranon, Kalaya, Philadelphia, PA
    Best Chef: Midwest (IA, KS, MN, MO, NE, ND, SD, WI)
    • Itaru Nagano and Andrew Kroeger, Fairchild, Madison, WI
    Best Chef: Mountain (CO, ID, MT, UT, WY)
    • Kris Komori, KIN, Boise, ID
    Best Chef: New York State
    • Junghyun Park, Atomix, New York, NY
    Best Chef: Northeast (CT, MA, ME, NH, RI, VT)
    • Sherry Pocknett, Sly Fox Den Too, Charlestown, RI
    Best Chef: Northwest & Pacific (AK, HI, OR, WA)
    • Vince Nguyen, Berlu, Portland, OR
    Best Chef: South (AL, AR, FL, LA, MS, PR)
    • Natalia Vallejo, Cocina al Fondo, San Juan, PR
    Best Chef: Southeast (GA, KY, NC, SC, TN, WV)
    • Terry Koval, The Deer and the Dove, Decatur, GA
    Best Chef: Southwest (AZ, NM, NV, OK)
    • Andrew Black, Grey Sweater, Oklahoma City, OK
    Best Chef: Texas
    • Benchawan Jabthong Painter, Street to Kitchen, Houston, TX
  • Humanitarian of the Year: Olivia Watkins and Karen Washington, co-founders of the Black Farmer Fund
  • Lifetime Achievement: Madhur Jaffrey CBE, cookbook author, writer, teacher, and actress
  • Restaurant and Chef America's Classics Award Winners:
    • Joe's Bakery & Coffee Shop, Austin, Texas; Owner: Paula Avila
    • La Casita Blanca, San Juan, Puerto Rico; Owners: Jesús Pérez Ruiz (deceased), Mildred De
    León, Leonardo Pérez De León, Jesús Pérez De León
    • Manago Hotel, Captain Cook, Hawai‘i; Owners: Britney and Taryn Manago
    • Nezinscot Farm, Turner, Maine; Owner: Gloria and Gregg Varney
    • Pekin Noodle Parlor, Butte, Montana; Owner: Jerry Tam
    • Wagner's Village Inn, Oldenburg, Indiana; Owner: Dan Saccomando

Read More: Chapter One Named 'Best Restaurant In Ireland'

© 2023 Hospitality Ireland – your source for the latest industry news. Article by Dave Simpson. Click subscribe to sign up for the Hospitality Ireland print edition.