General Industry

Speakers Confirmed For National Hospitality Conference 2016

By Publications Checkout
Speakers Confirmed For National Hospitality Conference 2016

The National Hospitality Conference 2016 will take place on Monday November 7th 2016 at the InterContinental Hotel, Dublin, preceding the 11th staging of the National Hospitality Awards.

The Conference is the hospitality and drinks industry's leading event for information sharing and networking, offering an opportunity to discover the latest trends and developments within your field. An event where you will equip yourself with the knowledge required to best run your business in the coming year, along with a chance to meet the sector’s leading experts, and your peers, in a tailormade networking.

The key conference speakers and panel speakers for the National Hospitality Conference 2016 are as follows:

Jeremy Wayne

Jeremy Wayne is restaurant editor of Tatler and hosts the annual Tatler Restaurant Awards. He was restaurant editor on the Guide section of The Guardian for 13 years and is a UK correspondent of Food & Wine. He has also contributed to the food and travel pages of The Sunday Times, Vogue, Vanity Fair and Departures, and has appeared on two series of Masterchef.


Repro Free: Tuesday 15th December 2015. Launch of Tetrarch Hospitality. Picture Jason Clarke.

Damien Gaffney is chief investment officer of Tetrarch Capital and head of Tetrarch Hospitality, which includes The Marker, Powerscourt Hotel, Mount Juliet, Killashee, Citywest, Mount Wolesley and Clonmel Park Hotel, among others. Damien’s background is corporate finance and he worked for Pricewaterhouse Cooper, Merrion Corporate Finance, Fyffes and FL Partners, before setting up Brehon, later Tetrarch, in 2011. The group’s first purchase was The Marker, and they now employ over 1800 people within the hospitality division.

Pictured is Paul Collins, Hotels & Licensed, CB Richard Ellis.

Paul Collins is Head of Brokerage UK Ireland for CBRE. He joined CBRE in 2001. Previously he qualified as an Associate of the Royal Institution of Chartered Surveyors and the Society of Chartered Surveyors in Ireland in 1988. Paul was recently appointed a Fellow of the newly formed Society of Chartered Surveyors Ireland. He has been involved in the hotel industry for more than 30 years and spent his early years and more recently working in London.


Leo Jago is Professor in Hospitality and Events and co-director of The Centre for Research and Enterprise at Surrey University School of Hospitality and Tourism Management, ranked as number one in the UK in the Guardian University Guide 2017 and the Complete University Guide 2017. Before joining Surrey University, Leo was inaugural Chief Economist and General Manager of Tourism Research Australia. In addition to his academic experience, Leo owned and operated a range of successful tourism and hospitality businesses over a period of 18 years.

PUBLICAN PANEL: Deirdre Devitt (Two Sisters Pub Terenure and Chair of LVA); Ian Keogh (Gilbert & Wright, Dun Laoghaire); Pat Crotty (Paris Texas & The Pantry, Kilkenny and president of the VFI); David O’Hare (Bru Brewery, Meath).

TECHNOLOGY PANEL: Daragh Anglim (head of marketing, Fáilte Ireland); Des O’Mahony (Director, Bookassist); Simon Lunt (B-Gate); Alexander Gibson (senior lecturer, marketing, DIT).

HOTEL & RESTAURANT PANEL: Ross Lewis (Chapter One and Osteria Lucio, Dublin); Declan Maxwell (Luna, Dublin); Garry Hughes (The Saddle Room, the Shelbourne hotel, Dublin); Charlie Shiel (The Marker hotel, Dublin); Bryan Davern (The Dean hotel, Dublin).

How to Book: Tickets for the National Hospitality Conference cost €95 + vat and can be booked by contacting Colette O'Brien on [email protected] or 01 236 5823. Visit